Second annual Gunslinger Golf Tournament results

On January 11 and 12 the RRMGA held its second annual Gunslinger Golf Tournament. A total of 86 golfers competed in the two-day team event, which featured four different nine hole formats. Each team consisted of two players vying for top prize in each flight. In order to even the playing field the teams were split into three flights according to total team handicap.

On day one the Buttes nine was played as a scramble, and the Picacho nine was played as a best net score between the two players. The handicap used for the scramble portion of the tournament is calculated by an intricate formula known only by a select few. The leaders after the first day of play in flight one were the Canadian team of Jim Osborne and Bruce Erickson with a tournament low score of 57.35. Flight two leaders were the team of Tom Landin and Terry Kumbera hailing from the great state of Wisconsin with a score of 61.3. Flight three leaders were the team of Al Rudd and Wayne Bauer with a score of 61.125.

The first day runners up in each flight were Jerry Coffman and Roy Johnson with a score of 60.5 in flight one; Marlo Dunlop and Don Edge with a score of 62.575 in flight two; and John Murphy playing with Clyde Smith with a score of 62.075 in flight three. Pizza and adult beverages were enjoyed by all at the end of the grueling first day of competition.

Day two formats were a bit more competitive where each player was required to be at his best. The Buttes was played as an alternate shot, and on the Picacho each players score counted with the two net scores added together to determine team total. The team alternate shot handicap was again calculated using the same secret formula. The two low scores for day two in each flight were as follows. Flight one, Nike Pike and Mike Pryor 102.75; Jim Stogsdill and Russ Stocek 103.25. In flight two, Bernie Drew and Roger Rau 103; and John Horak with Bob Kleinke 105.25. Finally in flight three Dale Parker and Jon Caldwell 104, and Dick Christopher with Mike hart 105.5. At the end of the second day everyone gathered for lunch and the announcement of each flight winners.

Here are the top three finishers in each flight with total scores

Flight one: 1st place Jim Osborn and Bruce Erickson totaling 162.85; 2nd place Nick Pike and Mike Pryor totaling 165.38; 3rd place Jerry Coffman and Roy Johnson totaling 166.5.

Flight two: 1st place Tom Landin and Terry Kumbera totaling 167.3; 2nd place Eldon Lee and John Sullivan totaling 168.38; 3rd place Bernie Drew and Roger Rau totaling 169.6.

Flight three: 1st place John Murphy and Clyde Smith totaling 170.32; 2nd place Dick Christopher and Mike Hart totaling 170.75; 3rd place Rodger Johnson and Gil Zuniga totaling 172.65.

Congratulations to the winners and thanks to all who participated to again make this a very successful event.