Ron Schroer Is Top Shooter at Robson Trap Trials

Pictured are 2024 men’s best of field winners Ron Schroer (left) of Robson Ranch, David Athey (center) of Quail Creek, and Dennis Abbey (right) of SaddleBrooke Ranch. (Photo by Vicki Ray)

Vicki Ray

Ron Schroer earned the title of ‘top shooter’ at this year’s Robson Trap Trials held March 22 at Tucson Trap and Skeet. Ron hit more consecutive targets before a miss to break a tie with Dave Athey of Quail Creek. Robson Ranch placed second overall in the contest. Quail Creek won the trials for the second year in a row and will host the 2025 event.

Shooters convene each year from Robson communities across Arizona, shooting three rounds of trap singles and capping the day with lunch and awards. This unique trap-shooting contest combines the top five individual scores from each community to determine a community score and a winning community. Those five shooters each receive a trophy. Trophies also go to the top shooter in each community, and the top three female and male shooters across all communities.

2024 Community Scores

Quail Creek – 341

Robson Ranch – 334

SaddleBrooke Ranch – 329

PebbleCreek – 316

Sun Lakes – 298

SaddleBrooke – 264

Men’s Best of Field

1st: Ron Schroer, Robson Ranch, 72

2nd: David Athey, Quail Creek, 72

3rd: Dennis Abbey, SaddleBrooke Ranch, 71

Robson Ranch Scores

Ron Schroer, 72

Scott Steffen, 67

Arvin VanRy and Paul Gayer, 66

Steve Riegel, 63

Charles Bond, 61

John Mullarky, 57

Andy Gayer, 55

Tom Gayer, 51

Ron Inman, 47

Brian Younge, 44

Toni Mullarky, 31